These standards will apply to all aged care services and will be assessed by the Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission (ACQSC).

The new standards have been designed to make it easier for customers, carers and families to understand what they can expect from aged care. There are eight standards and each one is about an aspect of care that contributes to the safety, health and wellbeing of people accessing aged care services, whether that’s in a nursing home or at home.

The eight standards are:

  • Consumer dignity and choice
  • Ongoing assessment and planning with consumers
  • Personal care and clinical care
  • Services and supports for daily living
  • Organisation’s service environment
  • Feedback and complaints
  • Human resources
  • Organisational governance

The Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission website provides useful information about the new Standard including a brief 3-minute introductory video. You can access the resources here:

Our vision for Amana Living is to continue to be the provider of choice for older West Australians.

We embrace the new Aged Care Quality Standards as a reflection of our own philosophy of care, and welcome the positive changes we trust the Standards will support across all aged care services in Australia.

If you have questions or would like further information about the new Standards, please speak with your contact person at Amana Living, or call our Customer Service Centre on  1300 26 26 26